What is Astrology?

zodiac signs

Etymologically speaking: it could be said that astrology studies the position and movement of the stars.
It is not an exact science. It only speaks of tendencies or inclinations that people can always modify according to their will and effort through their lives.

View Signs of Zodiac

Astrology belongs to the knowledge of the metaphysical tradition, known as ancient wisdom and which has prevailed through the centuries. It arises as a need to find a hidden order behind the confusion and chaos in the world. It has to do with the horoscope, this word comes from “öra” (time) and “skopos” (observer, to observe), it means “observation according to the time of birth”.

View Planets related to Astrology

The first conclusion we can draw in this regard is that the so-called “horoscopes” in the newspapers are not actually so, for the simple fact that they do not take into account the hour, day, month and year of each person’s birth, but only the day and the month.

View Asteroids related to Astrology

Therefore, it is not astrologically valid to divide people into 12 groups or “tribes”, saying “from March 21 to April 22, Aries”; “from April 22 to May 22, Taurus”, etc. and to pretend that the same things will happen to all Aries people on the same day.

View The Twelve Houses of Astrology

It is important to know that saying “horoscope” is the same as saying astrological chart (chart of the stars). There are several types of Astral Chart, which are used by astrologers to do their studies. The basic and fundamental birth chart is the so-called Natal Chart or Birth Chart.

History and Mitology

Astrology is a very ancient practice that different civilizations have developed independently. The Chaldeans, who lived in Babylon (today Iraq), had developed as early as 3000 BC. one of the original forms of astrology.

The Chinese, on the other hand, practiced it in 2000 BC. Other varieties developed in ancient India and in the Mayan civilization of North and Central America. These civilizations must have observed that certain stars, especially the sun, influenced the change of the seasons and the success of the harvests. Based on these observations they developed a more comprehensive system, in which the movements of other stars, such as planets, influenced or represented other aspects of life.

The Greeks and Romans mainly, tried to explain the origin of the cosmos through myths and the existence of different gods, associated with planets and natural forces. To do this, they justified their existence through mythology. According to the ancient classics, it once existed.
A first god named Uranus, who reigned over the Universe. Uranus married Gaea, and they had several children, including the Cyclops and the Titans.

Tired of hearing them fight, Uranus chained them to the bottom of Tartarus, in a dark and cold place. Gaea, enraged with Uranus, asked her children to take revenge on him. Then, one of them, Cronos – Saturn, who represents time – attacked his father, mutilated him and put him in chains. Thus, Cronos then marries his mother Gea and Gea gives birth to Demeter –goddess of crops-, Hera -Juno-, Hades –god of the underworld- and Poseidon -god of the seas-.
The Hado, supreme god, told Cronos that in the future one of his sons was going to chain him up just as he had done with his father … and the latter, for fear of losing power, would devour one of his sons every day.

When Gaea gives birth to Zeus (Jupiter), she took a stone and wrapping it in swaddling clothes, she gave it to her husband to swallow. Cronos, convinced that the stone was Zeus, ate it. Meanwhile, Gaea raised Zeus secretly. When Zeus finally grows up, she takes the power from his father and, prior to putting him in chains, forces him to vomit all of his siblings. Thus, Zeus became the supreme god of all that exists. He married Metis, the Mind; with Themis, Justice; with Mnemosyne, Memory; and he also joined Leto, Demeter, Hera and Maya, having children of all of them divine: Phoebus (Apollo, the Sun), Artemis (Diana, the Moon), Persephone (goddess of spring), Hermes (Mercury), Ares (Mars, god of war), Hephaestus (Vulcan, god of fire and blacksmith ), as well as the Muses.
Zeus gave each one a specific mission and divided the universe into 3 kingdoms: he took heaven and earth for himself, he gave the seas to Poseidon and the river from beyond the grave to Hades (which means in Greek, “what is not seen “).

Zeus, Poseidon, and Hades are the most powerful gods. The most beautiful goddess of love and beauty, Aphrodite (Venus), was born one spring morning among the foam of the sea. She is the daughter of Poseidon, and she has the power to kindle the fire of love in men. Ares, on the other hand, induces men to fight on the battlefields. Mythology tells that Aphrodite had two husbands: Hephaestus, the celestial blacksmith, and Ares, god of war. Apollo is the passionate and splendid sun god. Across the sky, he drives the luminous chariot of the sun, bringing warmth and strength to the entire universe. His sister Artemis (Diana) is the goddess of the Moon and of the hunt. A god friendly to men is Hermes (Mercury). He is the father of doctors, protector of thieves and lawyers. He is also a messenger of the gods.